The White Peacock

By: D. H. Lawrence
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 375.00
Rs. 375.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"The White Peacock" is a novel by D. H. Lawrence published in 1911. The story revolves around the relationship between two young people, George and Lettie, who fall in love in the English countryside. George is the nephew of a wealthy landowner, and Lettie is the daughter of a poor farmer. The novel explores themes of love, class, and the struggle for self-expression. The plot is centered around the courtship of George and Lettie, who come from vastly different backgrounds. George struggles with his privileged upbringing and a desire to break free from his family's expectations, while Lettie is confined by her poverty and the limited opportunities available to her. As their relationship progresses, they face challenges and obstacles that threaten to tear them apart. The novel is also notable for its vivid descriptions of the natural world, particularly the lush English countryside. Lawrence's prose captures the beauty and complexity of the landscape, and his characters are deeply connected to the natural world around them. In the end, the novel is a poignant exploration of the complexities of human relationships, the struggle for self-discovery and the consequences of social and economic divisions.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

D. H. Lawrence

D.H. Lawrence, or David Herbert Lawrence, was an English author of novels, short tales, poems, plays, essays, travel guides, and letters. He was born in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire, England, on September 11, 1885, and passed away in Vence, France, on March 2, 1930. He became one of the most important English authors of the 20th century because of his novels Sons and Lovers (1913), The Rainbow (1915), and Women in Love (1920). Lawrence never again resided in England after the First World War. He and his wife left for Italy in 1919. Soon after, he started writing a series of books that included The Lost Girl (1920), and Aaron's Rod (1922). All three books are divided into two sections, with the tribal ritual of mate-finding taking center stage in the first and the central character venturing to Europe in the second. All three books have open-ended conclusions, but in Mr. Noon, Lawrence delivers his protagonist Lawrence's firsthand account of his time in Germany in 1912 with Frieda, carrying on the lighthearted theme he introduced in Sons and Lovers. Lawrence made the decision to leave Europe in 1921 and travel to the US, Australia, and Sri Lanka.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 318 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9358019212
  • ISBN-13: 9789358019216
  • Item Weight: 381.6g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 17.6 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Classics,Fiction / General,Literary Collections / Medieval