The Tales of Chekhov

By: Anton Tchekhov
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

This book contains his well-known short story Kashtanka and some short tales which were translated by Constance Garnett. A young appearing mongrel named Kashtanka who belonged to the drunken carpenter Luka Alexandrovich gets lost due to her own "improper behavior" after being startled by a military band on the street. Needy and starving (“She surely would have thought that such a life was not feasible if she had been a person. I must commit suicide! "), she congregates by an unknown house's door. “The Tales of Chekhov” by Anton Chekhov consists of various interesting tales which were written by Richard Ford, a skilled storyteller in his own right, who personally selected the twenty stories from Anton Chekhov’s two hundred that are included in this remarkable anthology." These tales, arranged in chronological order from 1886 to 1899, come from Chekhov’s most productive years as a short story author. They provide a really well-rounded selection and highlight the traits that make Chekhov one of the greatest fiction authors of all time, including his talent for dialogue, humor, and emotional intuition as well as his awareness of how often the most significant events in life go unnoticed.

BInding: Perfect Bindding

Publisher Language: English

Paper Type: Creme

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Anton Tchekhov

One of the finest short story authors in history, Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860-1904) was a Russian playwright and short story writer. His four classic plays from his playwriting career are highly regarded by writers and reviewers, as are his best short tales. Chekhov is frequently cited as one of the three key figures in the emergence of early modernism in theatre, together with Henrik Ibsen and August Strindberg. Chekhov spent the majority of his literary career working as a doctor: He famously quipped, "Literature is my mistress and medicine is my rightful wife." After The Seagull's disastrous performance in 1896, Chekhov gave up acting. However, the play was revived to critical acclaim by Constantin Stanislavski's Moscow Art Theatre in 1898, which also produced Chekhov's Uncle Vanya and gave the world premieres of his final two plays, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard. These four plays pose a challenge to the acting group as well as the audience since Chekhov substitutes "theatre of mood" and "submerged life in the text" for traditional action. Initially primarily writing for financial benefit, Chekhov later made formal improvements that helped shape the development of the contemporary short tale as his artistic desire evolved.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 157 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357270647
  • ISBN-13: 9789357270649
  • Item Weight: 188.4g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 9.01 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Short Stories (single author)