The Sense Of The Past

By: Henry James
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

The unfinished novel The Sense of the Past by American novelist Henry James was released in 1917, one year after James' passing. The book is both a spooky story about time travel and a wistful comedy of manners. A young American switches places with a distant relative in early 19th-century England, where he finds numerous difficulties. A talented article on the reading of history was written by a young Ralph Pendrel from New York City. A distant English relative is so impressed by the essay that he leaves Ralph the estate of an 18th-century London home. As soon as Pendrel steps through the door, he senses time travel. In the book, Ralph Pendrel visits the American embassy in London and tries to explain the weird events that have been happening in his ancestor's home. Later, he enters the home and finds himself in the nineteenth century. The novel that James wrote in 1900 splits off at this point. After realizing that Ralph is truly a time traveler from the future, Nan made the ultimate sacrifice to assist Ralph in getting back to his own time and Aurora Coyne, the lady he had previously been spurned by. James wrote a lot of notes about how the book would go on. Here, the story ends entirely.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Henry James

Henry James OM was an American-born British author born in New York City on 15 April 1843. He is recognized as a crucial figure in the transition from literary realism to literary modernism. Henry James, Sr., an investor, and banker in Albany, was his father. Henry James was medically unfit in 1861 to fight in the American Civil War. For The Nation and Atlantic Monthly, he produced both fiction and nonfiction writing. Later, in 1878, Watch and Ward was published as a book. He left for Paris in 1875 and arrived in London in 1876. The Portrait of a Lady (1878), was released in 1881. He relocated to Sussex in 1897-1898, where he wrote The Turn of the Screw. He wrote The Ambassadors, The Wings of the Dove, and The Golden Bowl between 1902 and 1904. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. His memoirs A Small Boy and Others and Notes of a Son and Brother were both published in 1913. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. He was cremated after passing away on February 28, 1916, in Chelsea, London.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 183 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357271848
  • ISBN-13: 9789357271844
  • Item Weight: 219.6g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 10.4 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Philosophy / History & Surveys / General