The Schoolmistress, and Other Stories

By: Anton pavlovich Chekhov
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 199.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

The Schoolmistress and Other Stories' is a captivating collection of short stories written by Anton Chekhov, one of the most celebrated Russian authors of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The book comprises a series of insightful and poignant narratives that delve into the complexities of human nature and society. At the heart of the collection is the titular story, "The Schoolmistress," which follows the life of a dedicated schoolteacher who finds solace in her vocation despite the challenges she faces. Other stories in the collection explore a wide range of themes, including love, social class, morality, and the human condition. This collection serves as a testament to Chekhov's literary prowess, offering readers a glimpse into the complexities of the human experience through a series of thought-provoking and beautifully crafted tales. It is a must-read for lovers of literature and those seeking profound insights into the human psyche.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Anton pavlovich Chekhov

One of the finest short story authors in history, Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860–1904) was a Russian playwright and short story writer. His four classic plays from his playwriting career are highly regarded by writers and reviewers, as are his best short tales. Chekhov is frequently cited as one of the three key figures in the emergence of early modernism in theater, together with Henrik Ibsen and August Strindberg. Chekhov spent the majority of his literary career working as a doctor: He famously quipped, "Literature is my mistress and medicine is my rightful wife." After The Seagull's disastrous performance in 1896, Chekhov gave up acting. However, the play was revived to critical acclaim by Constantin Stanislavski's Moscow Art Theatre in 1898, which also produced Chekhov's Uncle Vanya and gave the world premieres of his final two plays, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard. These four plays pose a challenge to the acting group as well as the audience since Chekhov substitutes "theater of mood" and "submerged life in the text" for traditional action. Initially primarily writing for financial benefit, Chekhov later made formal improvements that helped shape the development of the contemporary short tale as his artistic desire evolved.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 152 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9358592257
  • ISBN-13: 9789358592252
  • Item Weight: 182.4g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 8.75 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Short Stories (single author),Fiction / Historical,Fiction / Classics