The Old Wives' Tale

By: Arnold Bennett
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 675.00
Rs. 675.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

Arnold Bennett wrote a book titled The Old Wives' Tale, which was first released in 1908. Constance and Sophia Baines, two sisters with extremely different lifestyles, are the subject of the book. It follows their lives from childhood, when they worked in their mother's drapery store, through old age. It is set in Burslem and Paris and spans around 70 years, from roughly 1840 to 1905. It is frequently cited as one of Bennett's best pieces of writing. There are four sections to the book. The first chapter, "Mrs. Baines," describes Constance and Sophia's adolescence and their upbringing at their father's home and business. Their mother, Mrs. Baines, serves as the primary caregiver for them because their sick and bedridden father cannot. By the end of the first novel, Constance has been replaced by the sophisticated Sophia, whose name reflects her sophistication. Constance marries Mr. Povey, a store employee, in the interim. Despite appearing to be mundane on the outside, her life is nevertheless full with intimate events, such as the passing of her husband Mr. Povey and her worries about the morals and behaviour of her son.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Arnold Bennett

Enoch Arnold Bennett was a prominent English novelist, born on 27 May 1866, in Staffordshire. His father Enoch Bennett was a solicitor and Sarah Ann was mother. Bennett did his schooling locally in Burslem. At the age of 16 years, he became a clerk in his father's office. Later, he went London and worked in another solicitor firm. After sometimes he entered in the literary world and became editor of the magazine woman. His first novel, 'A Man from the North's was published in 1898, success motivated him and he devoted his life in literary writing. In 1908, his masterpiece 'The Old Wives Tale' was published and he gained prestige of a legendary author. He wrote 34 novels, seven volumes of short stories, 13 plays in collaboration, articles and journals for 100 of newspapers. His popular works - Anna of the Five Towns, Clay Hanger, Hilda Less Ways, These Twain, The Clay - Hanger Family, The Strange Vanguard, Accident, Imperial Palace, Riceyman Steps, How to Live on 24 Hours a Day etc. During First World War, he served his nation in official and unofficial position. He became member of the War Propaganda Committee. Arnold Bennett died in 1931 suffering from typhoid.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 555 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357275142
  • ISBN-13: 9789357275149
  • Item Weight: 666g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 30.3 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Comics & Graphic Novels / Manga / Historical Fiction ,Fiction / Classics