The Marble Faun; Or, The Romance Of Monte Beni - Volume 1

By: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

The fourth and last of Nathaniel Hawthorne's four main romances is The Marble Faun: Or, The Romance of Monte Beni, also known in Britain as Transformation. Four primary characters-Miriam, Hilda, Kenyon, and Donatello-are the focus of this relationship.Miriam is a stunning painter who has no idea about her history. She is likened to several other women throughout the book, including Eve, Beatrice Cenci, Judith, and Cleopatra. A strange, menacing figure who is Miriam's "evil genius" throughout life is after her. Hilda is a good-hearted copycat. Both the Virgin Mary and the white dove are used to compare her. Despite having a soft heart, she may become stern due to her straightforward, unbending moral ideals. Hilda and Miriam are frequently compared.Kenyon is a sculptor who embodies humanist rationalism. He treasures his romantic attachment to Hilda. The Count of Monte Beni, Donatello, is in love with Miriam and is frequently likened to Adam. The marble Faun of Praxiteles by Donatello remarkably resembles it, and the story plays on the protagonists' suspicion that the Count could be a relative of the old Faun. However, even in the novel's final chapters and postscript, Hawthorne refrains from making a firm declaration.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Nathaniel Hawthorne

American author Nathaniel Hawthorne (July 4, 1804, to May 19, 1864) wrote both novels and short stories. His works typically touch on history, religion, and morality. His family had a lengthy history in Salem, Massachusetts, where he was born in 1804. Hawthorne enrolled at Bowdoin College in 1821, was chosen for membership in Phi Beta Kappa in 1824, and received his diploma in 1825. Fanshawe, his debut novel, was published in 1828; he later tried to suppress it because he believed it fell short of the caliber of his later works. In magazines, he produced a number of short stories, which he later compiled as Twice-Told Tales in 1837. He proposed to Sophia Peabody the next year. Before getting married to Peabody in 1842, he joined the transcendentalist community of Brook Farm and worked at the Boston Custom House. The pair first settled in Concord, Massachusetts' The Old Manse before relocating to Salem, the Berkshires, and finally The Wayside. Following the release of The Scarlet Letter in 1850, a number of other novels followed. Prior to their 1860 return to Concord, Hawthorne and his family traveled to Europe as part of a political appointment as a consul. He passed away on May 19, 1864.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 161 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357275231
  • ISBN-13: 9789357275231
  • Item Weight: 193.2g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 9.23 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Classics