The House on the Moor Vol. II

By: Mrs. Oliphant
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 225.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"The House on the Moor Vol. II" by Mrs. Oliphant is a captivating novel that immerses readers in the atmospheric setting of the English countryside. This Victorian-era fiction unfolds with an intricate blend of mystery, romance, and drama, captivating readers with its character-driven narrative and Gothic undertones. At the heart of the story lies the enigmatic House on the Moor and its inhabitants, whose lives are shrouded in secrets and intrigue. Mrs. Oliphant masterfully crafts a tale of family dynamics and estate affairs, drawing readers into a world where dark mysteries lurk behind every corner. Against the backdrop of the rugged English countryside, romance blossoms amidst the drama of familial conflicts and hidden agendas. The character-driven plot unfolds with twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they uncover the secrets of the estate. With its evocative portrayal of Victorian life and its Gothic atmosphere, "The House on the Moor Vol. II" stands as a timeless example of Mrs. Oliphant's mastery of storytelling. This compelling novel promises to transport readers to a world where mysteries abound and romance flourishes amidst the haunting beauty of the English moors.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Mrs. Oliphant

Margaret Oliphant Wilson Oliphant was a Scottish author and historical writer who usually wrote under the name Mrs. Oliphant. She was born Margaret Oliphant Wilson on April 4, 1828, and died on June 20, 1897. She writes "domestic realism, the historical novel, and tales of the supernatural" as her short stories. Margaret Oliphant was born in Wallyford, near Musselburgh, East Lothian. She was the only daughter and youngest child still living of Margaret Oliphant (c. 1789–17 September 1854) and Francis W. Wilson, a clerk. We lived in Lasswade, Glasgow, and Liverpool when she was a child. In Wallyford, a street called Oliphant Gardens is named after her. As a girl, she was always trying new things with writing. Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland, her first book, came out in 1849. This was about the mostly successful Scottish Free Church movement, which was something her folks agreed with. Next came Caleb Field in 1851, the same year she met publisher William Blackwood in Edinburgh and was asked to write for Blackwood's Magazine. She did so for the rest of her life and wrote over 100 articles, including one that criticized Arthur Dimmesdale in Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter."

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2024
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 144pages
  • ISBN-10: 9362763273
  • ISBN-13: 9789362763273
  • Item Weight: 187.2g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 8.32mm
  • Reading age: 10+
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Romance / General