The Athelings Or The Three Gifts Vol. 2

By: Margaret Oliphant
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 175.00
Rs. 175.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"The Athelings, Volume 2" is a thrilling book that Amelia Edith Huddleston Barr wrote. The book is ready the lives of the Atheling brothers, a set of six siblings who lost their mother and father when they were young. The story takes place in England in the center of the 1800s and tells the ride of each sibling, with Lionel Atheling, the oldest brother, getting the maximum attention. Lionel is a skilled artist who has a difficult time making a residing from what he loves. No count number how an awful lot he loves it; he does not want to make it his career. Instead, he'd rather work as a clerk in a bank. While Lionel is becoming increasingly sadder along with his job, he reveals consolation in his artwork and starts offevolved to work on it greater significantly. The book looks at his relationships together with his siblings, which includes his sister Elizabeth, who has decided to marry for cash and status, and with the individuals who help him with his creative projects. The book paints a vivid photograph of the social norms and financial issues of the time, as well as the many ways that they affected the Atheling brothers. The stories of each Atheling sibling display the many social and monetary problems that younger people in England inside the 1800s had to address, including setting professional dreams, finding suitable companions, and making critical contributions to society even as the financial system was awful.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Margaret Oliphant

Margaret Oliphant Wilson Oliphant was a Scottish author and historical writer who usually wrote under the name Mrs. Oliphant. She was born Margaret Oliphant Wilson on April 4, 1828, and died on June 20, 1897. She writes "domestic realism, the historical novel, and tales of the supernatural" as her short stories. Margaret Oliphant was born in Wallyford, near Musselburgh, East Lothian. She was the only daughter and youngest child still living of Margaret Oliphant (c. 1789–17 September 1854) and Francis W. Wilson, a clerk. We lived in Lasswade, Glasgow, and Liverpool when she was a child. In Wallyford, a street called Oliphant Gardens is named after her. As a girl, she was always trying new things with writing. Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland, her first book, came out in 1849. This was about the mostly successful Scottish Free Church movement, which was something her folks agreed with. Next came Caleb Field in 1851, the same year she met publisher William Blackwood in Edinburgh and was asked to write for Blackwood's Magazine. She did so for the rest of her life and wrote over 100 articles, including one that criticized Arthur Dimmesdale in Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter."

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 146Pages
  • ISBN-10:9359955655
  • ISBN-13:9789359955650
  • Item Weight: 219g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 8.42mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Drama / General