Tempting Of Tavernake

By: E. Phillips Oppenheim
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 349.00
Rs. 349.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

Tempting of Tavernake, written by Edward Phillips Oppenheim was first published in 1910 and marks the transformation of Oppenheim from his usual spy thrillers. Most of his works before this were filled with dashing noblemen, adventurous spies, and sophisticated heroes. The transformation was well received by the critics as the novel performed quite well after its release. The novel follows the story of an apathetic man who is socially awkward and cannot empathize with anyone or anything. The readers can see the protagonist unemotional and lonely at the beginning of the novel. However, an accidental encounter with American Beatrice Burnay would alter everything since she teaches him how to accept his emotions. The journey of an extreme introvert to someone who learns to open up his heart to people is heartwarming and can be relatable even after years. As the titular character enhances his emotional intelligence and becomes more emotionally available, the readers experience the growth and the transformation which is also symbolic of Oppenheim’s transformation as a writer as well. This novel was so appreciated that it was adapted in a film called “Sisters of Eve” in 1928.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

E. Phillips Oppenheim

E. Phillips Oppenheim was born on October 22, 1866, in Tohhenham, London, England, to Henrietta Susannah Temperley Budd and Edward John Oppenheim, a leather retailer. After leaving school at age 17, he helped his father in his leather business and used to write in his extra time. His first novel, Expiration (1886), and subsequent thrillers piqued the interest of a wealthy New York businessman who eventually bought out the leather business and made Oppenheim a high-paid director.He is more focused on dedicating most of his time to writing. The novels, volumes of short stories, and plays that followed, numbering more than 150, were about humans with modern heroes, fearless spies, and stylish noblemen. The Long Arm of Mannister (1910), The Moving Finger (1911), and The Great Impersonation (1920) are three of his most famous essays.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 286 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357272550
  • ISBN-13: 9789357272551
  • Item Weight: 343.2g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 15.9 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General