Silas Marner

By: George Eliot
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

Louie Marner George Eliot's third book is titled The Weaver of Raveloe. In 1861, it was published. The work, which appears to be a straightforward account of a linen weaver, is remarkable for its powerful realism and its complex handling of a range of subjects, including religion, industrialization, and community. The story takes place in the first decade of the nineteenth century. A weaver named Silas Marner belongs to a little Calvinist congregation in the Northern English slum district called Lantern Yard. While caring for the critically ill deacon, he is wrongly charged with embezzling money from the congregation. A pocket knife and the finding of the bag that once held the money in Silas' home both point to his involvement. Since Silas had handed William Dane his pocket knife just before the crime was committed, there is a strong suspicion that William has set Silas up. Silas and the others draw lots in the hope that God will guide the proceedings, but the results show that Silas is guilty. The intended spouse of Silas breaks off their union and chooses to wed William instead. Silas flees Lantern Yard and the city for an uncharted rural location since his life has been destroyed, and his heart has been broken.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

George Eliot

One of the leading English novelist of the Victorian era, George Eliot was the pen name of Mary Ann Evans. She was born on 22 November 1819, in rural Warwickshire. Her father Robert Evans was a estate manager and mother's name was Christiana Evans. She was influenced by her family's Methodist religious faith. She got an opportunity to read books in estate library and acquired good knowledge. For early education she studied at a local school and after that in a boarding. After her mother's death she left the school to help her father. While living in Coventry Eliot came in contact with Charles and Caroline Bray, their influence revolutionized her thinking and she became a rationalist. Her love partner George Henry Lewes encouraged her for fiction writing. Under the pen name of George Eliot her first novel Adam Bede was published in 1859. Her most notable literary works are- Adam Bede, The Mill on the Floss, Middlemarch, Silas Marne, Daniel Deronda etc. She was died in 1880. She has been appreciated for realistic view of life, psychological insight, ethical exploration and accomplished story theme.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 186 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357276068
  • ISBN-13: 9789357276061
  • Item Weight: 223.2g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 10.5 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Literary