Martin Hewitt, Investigator

By: Arthur Morrison
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 149.00
Rs. 149.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"Martin Hewitt, Investigator" is a collection of short stories written by Arthur Morrison and published in 1894. The book follows the adventures of private detective Martin Hewitt as he solves various cases in the Victorian era. The stories are narrated by Hewitt's friend and assistant, Brett, who provides a unique perspective on Hewitt's methods and successes. Each story presents a new case for Hewitt to solve, ranging from theft and fraud to kidnapping and murder. Throughout the book, Hewitt is portrayed as a brilliant and methodical detective who is able to solve even the most complex cases using his intelligence, attention to detail, and knowledge of human nature. He often relies on his deductive reasoning and observation skills to uncover clues and piece together the truth. Despite his success, Hewitt is not portrayed as infallible. He is shown to make mistakes and sometimes finds himself in dangerous situations, but he always manages to come out on top. Moreover, "Martin Hewitt, Investigator" is an entertaining and engaging read for fans of detective fiction and historical mysteries.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Arthur Morrison

English author and journalist Arthur Morrison (born 1 November 1863; died 4 December 1945) is best known for his realistic books, his depictions of working-class life in London's East End, and his Martin Hewitt-centered detective tales. Additionally, he authored various publications on Japanese art while collecting Japanese artwork. Through donations and purchases, the British Museum now holds a large portion of his collection. Morrison's novel A Child of the Jago is his most well-known piece of fiction (1896). Morrison published his first piece of significant journalism in the newspaper The Globe in 1885. He was hired in 1886 to a position at the People's Palace in Mile End after rising to the rank of the third-class clerk. He was granted reading privileges at the British Museum in 1888, and he went on to publish a series of 13 sketches titled Cockney Corner that chronicled daily life in a number of London neighborhoods, including Soho, Whitechapel, and Bow Street. Around 1,800 Japanese woodblock prints were given by Morrison to the British Museum in 1906.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 131 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9358011769
  • ISBN-13: 9789358011760
  • Item Weight: 157.2g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 7.62 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense,Fiction / Romance / Suspense,Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General