Guy Fawkes Or, The Gunpowder Treason An Historical Romance Book I

By: William Harrison Ainsworth
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 275.00
Rs. 275.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"Guy Fawkes: Or, The Gunpowder Treason An Historical Romance Book I" by William Harrison Ainsworth transports readers back to the tumultuous period of the Gunpowder Plot in early 17th-century England. This captivating novel blends elements of historical fiction and romance to bring to life one of the most infamous events in British history. In this sweeping narrative, Ainsworth delves into the intricate details of the Gunpowder Plot, offering readers a vivid portrayal of the political intrigue, religious tensions, and personal betrayals that surrounded the failed assassination attempt on King James I. Through the eyes of his characters, including the enigmatic figure of Guy Fawkes, Ainsworth paints a compelling picture of the conspirators' motivations and the consequences of their actions. Amidst the backdrop of historical events, Ainsworth weaves a captivating romance that adds depth and complexity to the narrative. As the plot unfolds, readers are drawn into a world of forbidden love, secret alliances, and daring escapades, where passion and peril collide in a thrilling tale of adventure and intrigue.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

William Harrison Ainsworth

William Harrison Ainsworth, an English historical author, was born on King Street in Manchester. He trained as a lawyer, but the legal profession did not appeal to him. While completing his law studies in London, he met publisher John Ebers, who was then the manager of the King's Theatre in Haymarket. Ebers introduced Ainsworth to literary and dramatic societies, as well as his daughter, who later became his wife. Ainsworth dabbled with publishing for a short time before abandoning it to pursue journalism and literature. His first breakthrough as a writer came with Rookwood, published in 1834 and starring Dick Turpin. A total of 39 novels followed, the last of which was published in 1881. Ainsworth was born on February 4, 1805, in the family home at 21 King Street in Manchester, to Thomas Ainsworth, a famous Manchester barrister, and Ann (Harrison) Ainsworth, the daughter of the Rev. Ralph Harrison, Unitarian minister at Manchester Cross Street Chapel. On October 4, 1806, Ainsworth's brother, Thomas Gilbert Ainsworth, was born. Although the family home was subsequently demolished, it was a three-story Georgian home in a wealthy neighborhood. The neighborhood impacted Ainsworth with its historical and romantic atmosphere, which lasted until the village was supplanted by commercial buildings [when?]. Aside from the community, Ainsworth read romantic novels as a child and appreciated stories with adventure or magical themes. Ainsworth was particularly fond of Dick Turpin.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2024
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 180 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9362205858
  • ISBN-13: 9789362205858
  • Item Weight: 270g
  • Dimension: 216 x 140 x 10.2mm
  • Country of Origin: India
  • Age: 13+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type: Fiction / Romance / Historical