Guy And Pauline

By: Compton Mackenzie
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 399.00
Rs. 399.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"Guy And Pauline" by Compton Mackenzie is a captivating romantic novel that delves into the complexities of love and the clash of societal expectations. This timeless tale follows the tumultuous relationship between the titular characters, Guy and Pauline, as they navigate the challenges of romance amidst the constraints of social norms. Set against the backdrop of early 20th-century England, Mackenzie masterfully captures the essence of the era with his evocative prose and vivid descriptions. Through the intertwined lives of Guy and Pauline, readers are drawn into a world of passion, betrayal, and redemption, where love blossoms amidst the rigid conventions of society. As the story unfolds, Mackenzie explores themes of class, duty, and the pursuit of happiness, inviting readers to reflect on the complexities of human relationships and the consequences of societal expectations. With its richly drawn characters and compelling narrative, "Guy And Pauline" offers a poignant portrayal of love's triumphs and tribulations.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Compton Mackenzie

Sir Edward Montague Compton Mackenzie, OBE, was a Scottish novelist, biographer, historian, and memoirist who also served as a cultural commentator, raconteur, and ardent Scottish nationalist. He co-founded the National Party of Scotland in 1928, alongside Hugh MacDiarmid, R. B. Cunninghame Graham, and John MacCormick. He was knighted in 1952. Edward Montague Compton Mackenzie was born in West Hartlepool, County Durham, England, into a theatrical family of Mackenzies, many of whom took the stage surname Compton, beginning with his English grandfather Henry Compton, a well-known Shakespearean actor of the Victorian era. Mackenzie is best known for his two comedic novels set in Scotland: Whisky Galore (1947), set in the Hebrides, and The Monarch of the Glen (1941), set in the Scottish Highlands. They spawned a popular film and television series, respectively. He wrote about a hundred works on various topics, including ten volumes of autobiography titled My Life and Times (1883-71). He published history (about the Battles of Marathon and Salamis), biography (Mr Roosevelt, a 1943 biography of FDR), literary criticism, satires, apologia (Sublime Tobacco 1957), children's stories, poetry, and other works. The Four Winds of Love is frequently regarded as his masterpiece in terms of fiction.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2024
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 270 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 936220438X
  • ISBN-13: 9789362204387
  • Item Weight: 405g
  • Dimension: 216 x 140 x 15.0mm
  • Country of Origin: India
  • Age: 13+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type: Fiction / Romance / General