Grounds of Natural Philosophy Divided into Thirteen Parts

By: Duchess of Margaret Cavendish Newcastle
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 225.00
Rs. 225.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"Grounds of Natural Philosophy: Divided into Thirteen Parts" by the Duchess of Margaret Cavendish Newcastle is a groundbreaking work that exemplifies early modern philosophy, blending science and metaphysics. As one of the pioneering women philosophers of the seventeenth century, Newcastle delves into the intricate realms of epistemology and ontology, exploring the essence of the natural world and human understanding. Through her unique perspective and intellectual prowess, Newcastle delves into atomism and materialism, challenging traditional philosophical frameworks and advocating for a feminist philosophy that elevates women's voices in intellectual discourse. With meticulous scholarship and bold insights, she navigates complex philosophical concepts, offering readers a deeper understanding of the interconnectedness of science and philosophy. "Grounds of Natural Philosophy" stands as a testament to Newcastle's intellectual legacy and her contributions to the advancement of early modern thought. As a trailblazing figure in intellectual history, she continues to inspire generations of philosophers and feminists alike, reshaping our understanding of the natural world and the role of women in philosophical inquiry. This work transcends genres, embodying both philosophical treatise and historical testament, enriching the discourse on science, philosophy, and women's intellectual contributions.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Duchess of Margaret Cavendish Newcastle

Duchess of Margaret Cavendish Newcastle was an accomplished English philosopher, poet, physicist, fiction writer, and playwright. During her lifetime, she wrote over 12 original literary works, several of which were well-known due to her high social rank. Margaret's high social status allowed her to meet and chat with some of the most prominent and influential thinkers of her time. Margaret Lucas, born to Sir Thomas Lucas (1573-1625) and Elizabeth Leighton (died 1647), was the family's youngest child. She had four sisters and three brothers: royalists Sir John Lucas, Sir Thomas Lucas, and Sir Charles Lucas, who controlled the property of St John's Abbey in Colchester. Her husband, then-marquess William Cavendish, 1st Duke of Newcastle, served as a Royalist commander in Northern England during the First English Civil War before going into self-imposed exile in France in 1644. Margaret joined him and stayed abroad until the Stuart Restoration in 1660. Cavendish, a poet, philosopher, prose romance author, essayist, and playwright, published under her own name at a time when most female writers were anonymous. She discussed gender, power, manners, scientific technique, and philosophy. Her utopian romance The Blazing World is one of the first works of science fiction. She was exceptional for her period in that she published substantially in natural philosophy and early modern science, with over a dozen original works and 21 updated works.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2024
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 146 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 936220813X
  • ISBN-13: 9789362208132
  • Item Weight: 219g
  • Dimension: 216 x 140 x 8.42mm
  • Country of Origin: India
  • Age: 13+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type: Philosophy / General