By: Henry James
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

Published by Macmillan Company and William Heinemann in June 1896, Embarrassments written by Henry James is a collection of novellas which deal with a certain type of embarrassment in different ways. The book consists of four stories viz. "The Figure in the Carpet", "Glasses", "The Next Time", and "The Way It Came". The Figure in the Carpet was first published in Cosmopolis in January/February 1896 and it follows the story of an unnamed narrator as he obsesses over an author and his works. He goes to extreme lengths to figure out the secret meaning hidden in his works. In the second story, Glasses, which first appeared in the Atlantic Monthly in February 1896, we see an orphan woman whose only motive in life is to get a husband, and she would stop at nothing to realize that goal. The Next Time was first featured in The Yellow Book issue #6, in July 1895. It is the shortest story out of all and majorly focuses on the moral that the quality of writing does not ensure popularity and vice versa. Lastly, The Wait It Came, which was first published in Chapman's Magazine of Fiction (London) in May 1896 can be enjoyed for its romantic woes with a touch of the supernatural.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Henry James

Henry James OM was an American-born British author born in New York City on 15 April 1843. He is recognized as a crucial figure in the transition from literary realism to literary modernism. Henry James, Sr., an investor, and banker in Albany, was his father. Henry James was medically unfit in 1861 to fight in the American Civil War. For The Nation and Atlantic Monthly, he produced both fiction and nonfiction writing. Later, in 1878, Watch and Ward was published as a book. He left for Paris in 1875 and arrived in London in 1876. The Portrait of a Lady (1878), was released in 1881. He relocated to Sussex in 1897-1898, where he wrote The Turn of the Screw. He wrote The Ambassadors, The Wings of the Dove, and The Golden Bowl between 1902 and 1904. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. His memoirs A Small Boy and Others and Notes of a Son and Brother were both published in 1913. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. He was cremated after passing away on February 28, 1916, in Chelsea, London.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 168 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357271651
  • ISBN-13: 9789357271653
  • Item Weight: 201.6g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 9.6 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / General, Fiction / Short Stories (single author)