A Tatter of Scarlet Adventurous Episodes of the Commune in the Midi 1871

By: S. R. Crockett
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 375.00
Rs. 375.00
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

"A Tatter of Scarlet: Adventurous Episodes of the Commune in the Midi 1871" by S. R. Crockett is a gripping historical novel that plunges readers into the tumultuous events of the Paris Commune in 1871. Set against the backdrop of the Midi region of France, the novel follows a cast of diverse characters as they navigate the chaos and upheaval of this pivotal moment in history. Through Crockett's vivid prose and meticulous research, readers are transported to the streets of Paris and the countryside of the Midi, where revolution and resistance collide. With its rich historical detail and compelling narrative, "A Tatter of Scarlet" offers a captivating glimpse into the lives of ordinary people caught up in extraordinary circumstances. As the Commune unfolds, Crockett explores themes of revolution, loyalty, and sacrifice, weaving a tapestry of human drama and emotion. From the barricades of Paris to the rural villages of the Midi, the characters of "A Tatter of Scarlet" grapple with love and loss, hope and despair, as they fight for their beliefs and their lives. With its blend of adventure, romance, and political intrigue, "A Tatter of Scarlet" is a riveting tale that sheds light on a lesser-known chapter of history while offering timeless insights into the resilience of the human spirit.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

S. R. Crockett

Samuel Rutherford Crockett was a Scottish novelist who published under the pen name "S. R. Crockett". He was born on September 24, 1859, in Little Duchrae, Balmaghie, Kirkcudbrightshire, Galloway, as the illegitimate son of dairymaid Annie Crocket. His Cameronian grandparents nurtured him on the tenanted farm until the family relocated to Cotton Street, Castle Douglas in 1867 (later fictionalized as Cairn Edward). In 1876, he obtained the Galloway bursary at Edinburgh University, where he earned an MA. He began his journalistic career in 1877 to support his bursary by writing for journals. He left the university in April 1879 without receiving a diploma. From 1879 to 1881, he traveled throughout Europe as a tutor before returning to Edinburgh's New College to prepare for the ministry. The Crocketts had four children: Maisie Rutherford, Philip Hugh Barbour, George Milner, and Margaret Douglas, all of whom appeared in his children's stories. In 1906, the family relocated from Bank House in Penicuik to Torwood House in Peebles, but Crockett spent much of the year overseas and made frequent trips back to Galloway. In 1886, he released a volume of poetry under the alias Ford Brereton, titled Dulce Cor (Latin for Sweet Heart). Dulce Cor is a ruined abbey in Galloway. In the late 1880s, he was a regular contributor to The Christian Leader magazine, edited by W.H. Wylie.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2024
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 248pages
  • ISBN-10: 9363052184
  • ISBN-13: 9789363052185
  • Item Weight: 322.4g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 13.8mm
  • Reading age: 10+
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Historical