A Passionate Pilgrim

By: Henry James
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 75.00
Rs. 75.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

Shakespeare is thought to have inspired only five of the 20 poems in William Jaggard's "The Passionate Pilgrim" (1599) anthology, which was given the "W. Shakespeare" credit on the title page. These two sonnets, along with three other poems taken from the play Love's Labour's Lost, were later included in the 1609 collection of Shakespeare's sonnets. Shakespeare is not who is claimed to be on the title page, according to both internal and external evidence. During his lifetime, two were published in other collections under an anonymous name, and five were credited to other poets. While the majority of critics rule out the remaining poems as not being Shakespearean due to stylistic differences, Ward Elliott and Robert Valenza's stylometric analysis placed two blocks of the poems within Shakespeare's style parameters. The Passionate Pilgrim was first published in octavo, probably in 1599 or possibly the year before. The first edition survives only in two sheets (poems 1-5, 16-18) preserved at the Folger Shakespeare Library. There are still two copies of the second edition (O2) from 1599. It is a collection of 20 poems that were first credited to William Shakespeare and was published in 1599 by William Jaggard.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Henry James

Henry James OM was an American-born British author born in New York City on 15 April 1843. He is recognized as a crucial figure in the transition from literary realism to literary modernism. Henry James, Sr., an investor, and banker in Albany, was his father. Henry James was medically unfit in 1861 to fight in the American Civil War. For The Nation and Atlantic Monthly, he produced both fiction and nonfiction writing. Later, in 1878, Watch and Ward was published as a book. He left for Paris in 1875 and arrived in London in 1876. The Portrait of a Lady (1878), was released in 1881. He relocated to Sussex in 1897-1898, where he wrote The Turn of the Screw. He wrote The Ambassadors, The Wings of the Dove, and The Golden Bowl between 1902 and 1904. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. His memoirs A Small Boy and Others and Notes of a Son and Brother were both published in 1913. He received the Order of Merit in 1915 and became a citizen of Great Britain. He was cremated after passing away on February 28, 1916, in Chelsea, London.

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 68 Pages
  • ISBN-10: 9357271511
  • ISBN-13: 9789357271516
  • Item Weight: 81.6g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 4.24 mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Reading age : 10+
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Classics