The Ladies Lindores Vol. 3

By: Mrs. Oliphant
Published By: Double9 Books
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 199.00
Rs. 9.79
Sold Out
Unit Price

About the Book

The novel "The Ladies Lindores: Volume 3" become written with the assist of Margaret Oliphant, who became a success Scottish writer inside the 1800s and became also called "Mrs. Oliphant." When it became first published in 1883, the story takes location in Victorian England and is ready the Lindores' family. Three girls named Lady Lindores are at the center of the story: Lady Lindores, her daughter Lady Caroline, and her niece Lady Edith. The book tells a story about family secrets and techniques, social expectancies, and the way complicated relationships can be. After her husband died, Lady Lindores became left with lots of own family records and the responsibility of upholding the circle of relative’s name whilst also dealing with the intricate web of social norms. The story Mrs. Oliphant tells is full of rich personal boom and a deep study the social climate of the time. The book gives a complex image of the jobs and expectations girls had in Victorian society, as well as the relationships among generations in a rich circle of relatives. As the Lindores' own family deals with the consequences of choices made in the past and society pressures, readers are pulled right into a gripping story that has factors of drama, romance, and social observation.

Read more

Premium quality
Easy Return
Certified product
Secure Checkout
Money back guarantee
On time delivery

About Author

Mrs. Oliphant

Margaret Oliphant Wilson Oliphant was a Scottish author and historical writer who usually wrote under the name Mrs. Oliphant. She was born Margaret Oliphant Wilson on April 4, 1828, and died on June 20, 1897. She writes "domestic realism, the historical novel, and tales of the supernatural" as her short stories. Margaret Oliphant was born in Wallyford, near Musselburgh, East Lothian. She was the only daughter and youngest child still living of Margaret Oliphant (c. 1789–17 September 1854) and Francis W. Wilson, a clerk. We lived in Lasswade, Glasgow, and Liverpool when she was a child. In Wallyford, a street called Oliphant Gardens is named after her. As a girl, she was always trying new things with writing. Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland, her first book, came out in 1849. This was about the mostly successful Scottish Free Church movement, which was something her folks agreed with. Next came Caleb Field in 1851, the same year she met publisher William Blackwood in Edinburgh and was asked to write for Blackwood's Magazine. She did so for the rest of her life and wrote over 100 articles, including one that criticized Arthur Dimmesdale in Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter."

Read more

Product Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publishing Year: 2023
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 168Pages
  • ISBN-10:9359957828
  • ISBN-13:9789359957821
  • Item Weight: 252g
  • Dimension : 216 x 140 x 9.60mm
  • Country of Origin : India
  • Importer: Double 9 Books
  • Packer: Double 9 Books
  • Book Type : Fiction / Romance / Historical / General